< Prev | Next > | Other albums by The Persevering Promise
Album Data
Code: 88035
Artist: The Persevering Promise
Title: Fake Is Not A Pretty Color EP
Record Label: Self-Released
Lib. Location:
Compact Disc
Lib. Number: P-931-0
In Station: 6/6/2011
Previewed On:
Condition: Excellent
Influence: None
Holidays: None
Music Genres
Related Artists
1Sea Sick
3The Tongue Of Serpents
4Virtue Vs. The Common Man
5A Day, A Death, A Dream
6The Ferryman's Toll
7In Search Of Something Safe
Website URLs
Artist: None
Album: None
Record Label:
Reviews Add Review
Get Down With The PP , 6/14/2011 12:00:00 AM
Reviewer: Anthony Saia
The Persevering Promise has come a long way since last summer. After cutting ties with their former female vocalist and two bass players, The PP had some work ahead of them as 2010 progressed.
With high hopes and big dreams these guys started writing music together, working with Matt Hoos’s uncanny ability to wordsmith lyrics along with Jesse Barton.
Barton (vocals and guitars), Hoos (vocals and guitars), Hampton Amos (vocals and guitars) and Chase Williams (drums) rounded out the final lineup before they hit the studio.
In Spring of 2011, the band flew to Detroit, Michigan to record their EP with Matt Dalton producer behind Chiodos and I See Stars. The band was going for a sound unlike all the other “Joey Sturgis bands” and with the inclusion of Dalton it was a no-brainer kind of decision.
The EP starts with the track “Sea Sick”, opening with solid gang vocals and some tasty opening riffage. Williams wastes no time showing of his stick handling, quick feet and fills while Hoos’ voice soars over Barton’s screams.
The lyrics of “Sea Sick” as well as others on the EP play on subjects such as strong friendships, intense hardship and sorrowful heartbreak.
“Colors”, the second track on the album is a bit long but it’s buildup and breakdowns are strong, Williams, again goes crazy with massive fills while Amos chugs along with him on bass. Barton’s screams are the meatiest around the five-minute mark while the crash cymbal closes out the track.
“The Tongues of Serpents”, arguably the best track on the EP has a great build up, Hoos’s vocals again soaring over the music with Barton’s screams used for a bit of flair.
Track four, “Virtue Vs. The Common Man” is a track that some listeners might not have expected after the first three tracks, however, the change in tempo and pace is a refreshing change from a lot of ho-hum songs that are dark and ultimately too “chuggy” within the genre – the band lovingly calls this their “Happy Hardcore” track with good purpose. It’s heavy but happy.
Conversely, “The Ferryman’s Toll”, much like its title, is a little darker, but this plays towards Hoos’s lyrical strength while having a good tone from all instruments.
“A Death, A Death, A Dream” showcases some more gang vocals as well as Barton’s clear, intense screams and quick instrumentation. Williams makes his presence known here too with quick feet and little dips and flairs on cymbals that gives the song the heaviness it needs to round out the EP.
Along with some staples of the post-hardcore genre the quartet are able to string together heavy bridges, breakdowns and instrumentation over Williams’ quick feet and classically trained technicality. With these qualities and the band members personal flairs this makes for one of the most solid EPs I’ve heard all year.
“Seasick” and “The Tongues of Serpents” are both standout tracks on the EP as well as an alternate version “In Search Of Something Safe” listed as the bonus track.
The band has been making large strides lately enlisting Amos’s brother Langston to play guitar while Hoos and Barton share vocal duties and instrumentation.
Ultimately, this EP is solid and listeners should be on the look out for the band’s full-length, hopefully coming soon.